Republic of Malta

Repubblika ta' Malta  (Maltese)
Motto: Virtute et constantia
"With strength and consistency"
Anthem: L-Innu Malti
The Maltese Hymn
Location of Malta (green circle) – in Europe (light green & dark grey) – in the European Union (light green)  –  [Legend]
Location of Malta (green circle)

– in Europe (light green & dark grey)
– in the European Union (light green)  –  [Legend]

35°54′N 14°31′E / 35°54′N 14°31′E / 35.900; 14.517
Largest townSt. Paul's Bay
Official languagesMaltese,[e] English
Other languageMaltese Italian (66% conversational)[1]
Ethnic groups
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional republic
• President
George Vella
Joseph Muscat
LegislatureHouse of Representatives
• State of Malta
21 September 1964
• Republic
13 December 1974
• Total
316[3] km2 (122 sq mi) (185th)
• Water (%)
• 2019 estimate
493,559[4] (167)
• 2011 census
• Density
1,457[5]/km2 (3,773.6/sq mi) (5th)
GDP (PPP)2019 estimate
• Total
$22.802  billion[6]
• Per capita
GDP (nominal)2019 estimate
• Total
$15.134 billion[6]
• Per capita
Gini (2017)Positive decrease 28.3[7]
low · 15th
HDI (2017)Increase 0.878[8]
very high · 29th
CurrencyEuro ()[c] (EUR)
Time zoneUTC+1 (Central European Time)
• Summer (DST)
UTC+2 (Central European Summer Time)
Date formatdd/mm/yyyy (AD)
Driving sideleft
Calling code+356
ISO 3166 codeMT
  1. ^ Languages other than the mother tongue of Maltese[1]
  2. ^ Maltese nationals as referred to in the 2011 census[5]
  3. ^ Maltese lira before 2008
  4. ^ Also .eu, shared with other European Union member states
  5. ^ Also Maltese Sign Language[9]

Malta (ə/,[11] ə/ (About this soundlisten); Maltese: [ˈmɐltɐ]), officially known as the Republic of Malta (Maltese: Repubblika ta' Malta), is a Southern European island country consisting of an archipelago in the Mediterranean Sea.[12] It lies 80 km (50 mi) south of Italy, 284 km (176 mi) east of Tunisia,[13] and 333 km (207 mi) north of Libya.[14] With a population of about 475,000[4] over an area of 316 km2 (122 sq mi),[3] Malta is the world's tenth smallest[15][16] and fifth most densely populated country. Its capital is Valletta, which is the smallest national capital in the European Union by area at 0.8 km². The official languages are Maltese and English, with Maltese officially recognised as the national language and the only Semitic language in the European Union.

Malta has been inhabited since approximately 5900 BC. Its location in the centre of the Mediterranean[17] has historically given it great strategic importance as a naval base, with a succession of powers having contested and ruled the islands, including the Phoenicians and Carthaginians, Romans, Greeks, Arabs, Normans, Aragonese, Knights of St. John, French, and British.[18] Most of these foreign influences have left some sort of mark on the country's ancient culture.

Malta became a British colony in 1815, serving as a way station for ships and the headquarters for the British Mediterranean Fleet. It played an important role in the Allied war effort during the Second World War, and was subsequently awarded the George Cross for its bravery in the face of an Axis siege,[19][20] The British Parliament passed the Malta Independence Act in 1964, giving Malta independence from the United Kingdom as the State of Malta, with Queen Elizabeth II as its head of state and queen.[21] The country became a republic in 1974. It has been a member state of the Commonwealth of Nations and the United Nations since independence, and joined the European Union in 2004; it became part of the eurozone monetary union in 2008.

Malta has a long Christian legacy and its Archdiocese is claimed to be an apostolic see because Paul the Apostle was shipwrecked on "Melita", according to Acts of the Apostles,[22] which is now widely taken to be Malta. While Catholicism is the official religion in Malta, Article 40 of the Constitution states that "all persons in Malta shall have full freedom of conscience and enjoy the free exercise of their respective mode of religious worship."[23][24]

Malta is a popular tourist destination with its warm climate, numerous recreational areas, and architectural and historical monuments, including three UNESCO World Heritage Sites: Hypogeum of Ħal-Saflieni,[25] Valletta,[26] and seven megalithic temples which are some of the oldest free-standing structures in the world.[27][28][29]


The origin of the name Malta is uncertain, and the modern-day variation is derived from the Maltese language. The most common etymology is that the word Malta is derived from the Greek word μέλι, meli, "honey".[30] The ancient Greeks called the island Μελίτη (Melitē) meaning "honey-sweet", possibly for Malta's unique production of honey; an endemic subspecies of bees live on the island.[31] The Romans called the island Melita,[32] which can be considered either a latinisation of the Greek Μελίτη or the adaptation of the Doric Greek pronunciation of the same word Μελίτα.[33] In 1525 William Tyndale used the transliteration "Melite" in Acts 28:1 for Καὶ διασωθέντες τότε ἐπέγνωμεν ὅτι Μελίτη ἡ νῆσος καλεῖται as found in his translation of The New Testament that relied on Greek texts instead of Latin. "Melita" is the spelling used in the Authorized (King James) Version of 1611 and in the American Standard Version of 1901. "Malta" is widely used in more recent versions, such as The Revised Standard Version of 1946 and The New International Version of 1973.

Another conjecture suggests that the word Malta comes from the Phoenician word Maleth, "a haven",[34] or 'port'[35] in reference to Malta's many bays and coves. Few other etymological mentions appear in classical literature, with the term Malta appearing in its present form in the Antonine Itinerary (Itin. Marit. p. 518; Sil. Ital. xiv. 251).[36]